November 17, 2015

Miguel Sano finishes third, Eddie Rosario sixth in AL Rookie of the Year vote

Miguel Sano, the rookie phenom for the Twins who hit 18 home runs in 80 games, finished third in the American League Rookie of the Year vote on Monday.

Houston Astros shortstop Carlos Correa won the award, followed by runner-up and fellow infielder Francisco Lindor of the Cleveland Indians. Correa received 124 votes, Lindor 109 votes and Sano 20 votes from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.
Another Twins rookie, outfielder Eddie Rosario, also received two third-place votes to finish sixth. It’s the first time since 2008 that two Twins have received Rookie of the Year votes.
Last time Twins had two rookies receiving ROY votes: 2008, when Denard Span tied for sixth, Nick Blackburn tied for eighth.

— Phil Miller (@MillerStrib) November 17, 2015

I thought Sano had a real shot at winning the award, given that he made the leap from Double-A ball to the bigs and then delivered on the hype, hitting towering shots in pitcher-friendly Target Field. Over 80 games he had 75 hits, 17 doubles, 18 home runs, 52 RBIs and hit .269. 
He’s also 22. Can’t wait til next season.
Rookie Rosario had a good season, too. He led the league in triples with 15. Over 122 games, he had 121 hits, 18 doubles, 13 home runs, 50 RBIs and hit .267.
Twins who have won Rookie of the Year:
1995: Marty Cordova, .277, 24 home runs, 84 RBIs.
1991: Chuck Knoblauch, .281, 159 hits, 24 doubles, 25 stolen bases.
1979: John Castino, .285, 112 hits, 52RBIs.
1967: Rod Carew, .292, 150 hits (over 137 games), 22 doubles.
1964: Tony Oliva, .323, 217 hits, 43 doubles, 32 home runs, 94 RBIs, 109 runs.
(How about Oliva’s rookie year? Wow).
1959: Bob Allison, .261, 30 home runs, 85 RBIs.
Allison posted those numbers with the Washington Senators. The Senators eventually moved to Minnesota for the 1961 season.

Hi, I’m Rolf Boone, Twins fan.

I became a fan of the Minnesota Twins after a friendly wager in the early 1980s. I survived Ron Davis, the meltdown in Cleveland, Phil Bradley at the Kingdome and then marveled at a rising generation of stars and two World Series wins in 1987 and 1991. Brad Radke made the 1990s bearable, while Kirby Puckett’s eye injury, exit from the game and eventual death made it almost too much to bear. The new century ushered in more talent — Joe Mauer, Johan Santana, Joe Nathan, Torii Hunter, Justin Morneau — and consecutive seasons of playoff baseball, followed by consecutive seasons of losing baseball. A winning season returned in 2015. So here we are. Go Twins.